At the ANNUAL MEETING of the **BRIDPORT TOWN COUNCIL** held in the Town Hall, Bridport on Thursday 17 May 2012 at 7.00 p.m.

PRESENT Cllr D.G. Rickard – Town Mayor (in the Chair)

Cllr G.J. Ackerman C.M. Ray
P.J. Colfox Mrs M.J. Ray
Ms R.C. Kayes Ms G.E. Summers
Ms G.E. Massey Ms A-M.A. Vincent
J.T. May Ms S.J. Williams

C.O. Michell

1. <u>ELECTION OF THE TOWN MAYOR (CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

The Mayor asked the Deputy Mayor to call for the nominations.

It was moved by Cllr G.J. Ackerman, seconded by Cllr C.M. Ray and, on being put to the vote RESOLVED: that Cllr D.G. Rickard be elected Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2012/2013.

Cllr D.G. Rickard read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for his election. Cllr Rickard had prior to his nomination given a summary of his year on his office as outgoing Mayor. Following his election, he spoke about the civic year ahead.

2. <u>ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR (VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

It was moved by Cllr C.M. Ray, seconded by Cllr Ms S.J. Williams and, on being put to the vote RESOLVED: that Cllr G.J. Ackerman be elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2012/2013.

Cllr G.J. Ackerman read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for his election.

3. <u>ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE TOWN COUNCIL</u>

It was moved by Cllr Ms S.J. Williams, seconded by Cllr D.G. Rickard and, on being put to the vote RESOLVED: that Cllr C.M. Ray be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2012/2013.

Cllr C.M. Ray read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for his election. Cllr C.M. Ray spoke about the year ahead for the Town Council.

4. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Cllrs: Miss S.A. Brown, E.T. Colfox, Ms L.L. Glover, P.J. Lathey, D.R. Tett and K.G. Wallace.

5. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 17 April 2012 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Town Mayor (Chairman).

6. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

All the previously recorded interests declared under this item in the Committee minutes were noted. Cllrs Ms R.C. Kayes, D.G. Rickard and Ms A.M.A. Vincent also declared personal interests as members of the Spirit of Bridport, which was reported for information in the minutes of the Finance and General Purposes Committee, to be received at this meeting (min.13).

7. MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS 2012/13

The Town Mayor advised the Council that the appointments would be the same as for 2011/2012 and his Parade Commander for Civic Events will be R. Vivian May, Esq.

The Mayor said how pleased he was to see Mr Vivian May at the meeting and thanked him for his ongoing support as Parade Commander.

The Mayor's charities for the year would be the Read Easy scheme, the Community Allotment at the Orchard and the Skills for Self Reliance project.

8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS AND DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS FOR 2012/13</u>

Consideration was given to the establishment of the committees, sub committees and working groups for the ensuing municipal year 2012/2013, their terms of reference and delegations as set out in the Town Council's constitution, ENCL: 2541.

RESOLVED: that the committees, sub committees and working groups be established for 2012/13, with the terms of reference and delegations as set out in the Town Council's Constitution and summarised in ENCL: 2541.

9. <u>MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS</u> FOR 2012/13

RESOLVED: that the membership of committees, sub committees and working groups for the municipal year 2012/13 be approved as set out in the Appendix to these minutes.

10. STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

RESOLVED: that the Council's existing Standing Orders and Financial Regulations shall apply for 2012/2013, as previously adopted.

11. **MEETINGS CALENDAR 2012/2013**

The previously approved meetings calendar for 2012/13 was noted.

12. STANDING ORDER 14 (b)

There were no questions pursuant to standing order 14(b).

13. MINUTES OF COMMITTEES

(a) PLANS COMMITTEE

The minutes of the meeting of the Plans Committee held on 30 April 2012 were presented by the Committee Chairman, Councillor Ms S.J. Williams.

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting of the Plans Committee held on 30 April 2012 be received.

(b) FINANCE AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

The minutes of the meeting of the Finance and General Purposes Committee held on 25 April 2012 were presented by the Committee Chairman, Councillor C.M. Ray.

It was noted that Cllr Miss S.A. Brown was not present at the meeting and should not have been listed under the members present.

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting of the Finance and General Purposes Committee held on 25 April 2012 be received.

14. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor had no additional announcements.

The meeting closed at **7.30 p.m**.

The next meeting of Bridport Town Council will be held on 26 June 2012

Bridport Town Council Memberships 2012/13

Committees

	Committe	ees											
Finance and General Purposes (9) Plans (9)					Envir	onmer	it & Social We	llbeing (9	9)	
	G.J.	Ackerman		G.J.	Ackerman			G.J.	Acl	kerman			
	S.A.	Brown		E.T.	Colfox			E.T.	Co	lfox			
	G.E.	Massey		R.C.	Kayes			P.J	Co	lfox			
	J.T.	May		P.J.	Lathey			L.L.	Glo	over			
	C.M.	Ray		C.O.	Michell			R.C.	Ka	yes			
	M.J.	Ray		C.M.	Ray			D.G.	Ric	kard			
	D.R.	Tett		D.G.	Rickard			A-M.		cent			
	A-M.A.	Vincent		G.E.	Summers			S.J.	Wil	liams			
	K.G.	Wallace		S.J.	Williams			One \	/acan	СУ			
	Sub Com												
Best Value, Scrutiny & Town		Highways & Transportation (5			Market & Business Liaison (5)				ss Liaison (5)		Staffing Appeals (3)		
Plan (9)						_							
		Ackerman	G.J.	Ackerm	an		G.J.		kermai	ı		C.M. Ray	
		Brown	P.J.	Lathey			S.A.	Bro				D.G. Rickard	
		Colfox	M.J.	Ray			M.J.	Ra				G. E. Summers	
		Ray	K.G.	Wallace			D.G.		kard			Alternate members	
M.J. Ray		S.J. Williams		S		S.J.	Wil	liams			S.A. Brown		
		Rickard										D.R. Tett	
		Summers										One Vacancy	
		Williams											
One Vacancy													
Working Groups													
	Open Spaces & Recreation (7)		Social Well Being & Inclusion(7)			. ,			` '		all & Bucky Doo (6)		
	G.J.	Ackerman	L.L.	Glover		L.L.	Glove	r	S.A.	Brown	Leader		
	G.E.	Massey	R.C.	Kayes		C.M.	Ray		E.T.	Colfox	Mayor		
	C.M.	Ray	C.M.	Ray		M.J.	Ray		R.C.	Kayes	Deputy I	-	
	M.J.	Ray	M.J.	Ray		D.G.	Ricka		P.J.	Lathey	Chair F8		
	D.G.	Rickard	D.G.	Rickard		A-M.A.	Vince		C.M.	Ray		Best Value Sub Committe	e
	G.E.	Summers	G. E.	Summers		K.G.	Walla	ce	M.J.	Ray	One Vac	cancy	
One Vacancy		A-M.A.	Vincent	nt (One Vacancy		S.J.	Williams				

(In accordance with Standing Order 25(c), the Leader of the Council shall be an ex-officio member of every committee and sub committee)