At the ANNUAL MEETING of the **BRIDPORT TOWN COUNCIL** held in the Town Hall, Bridport on Thursday 19 May 2016 at 7.00 p.m.

PRESENT Cllr Sandra Brown (in the Chair for item 1)

Geoffrey Ackerman
Jeremy Brodie
Kelvin Clayton
Sarah Horniman
Barry Irvine
Julian Jones
Gillian Massey
Maggie Ray
Martin Ray
David Rickard
Anne Rickard
Sarah Williams

Ros Kayes

Cllr

The Town Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and gave a summary of her civic year. She also made a presentation to Linda Bullock and thanked her for all her help over the past year.

1. <u>ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR (CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

It was moved by Cllr David Rickard, seconded by Cllr Anne Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Ros Kayes be elected Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2016/2017.

There was a short adjournment and on reconvening, Cllr Ros Kayes was in the Chair.

Cllr Ros Kayes read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election. She also spoke about the civic year ahead and presented Cllr Sandra Brown with a former Mayors' badge.

2. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR (VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

It was moved by Cllr Barry Irvine, seconded by Cllr Sarah Horniman and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Anne Rickard be elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2016/17.

Cllr Anne Rickard read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election.

3. <u>ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE TOWN COUNCIL</u>

It was moved by Cllr Ros Kayes, seconded by Cllr David Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Sarah Williams be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2016/17.

Cllr Sarah Williams read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election. She also spoke about the year ahead for the Town Council.

4. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Cllrs: Keith Day, Teresa Harrison and Frances McKenzie.

5. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 12 April 2016 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Town Mayor (Chairman).

6. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS AND DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS FOR 2016/17</u>

Consideration was given to the establishment of the committees, sub committees and working groups for the ensuing municipal year 2016/17, their terms of reference and delegations as set out in the Town Council's constitution, ENCL: 3088.

The Town Clerk reported that it was proposed to keep the membership of the Best Value and Scrutiny Sub Committee at nine members.

RESOLVED: that committees, sub committees and working groups be established for 2016/17, with the terms of reference and delegations (including those to the Town Clerk) as set out in the Appendix to the report, subject to the membership of the Best Value and Scrutiny Sub Committee being nine members, and the terms of reference for standing working groups to be reviewed and agreed by the relevant Committee.

8. <u>MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS</u> FOR 2016/17

The proposed memberships had been circulated to all members, prior to the meeting.

RESOLVED: that the membership of committees, sub committees and working groups for the municipal year 2016/17 be approved, as set out in the Appendix to these minutes.

9. STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

Consideration was given to the Council's Standing Orders and Financial Regulations, as set out in ENCL: 3089 (a) and (b) and amended as agreed by the previous Council meeting.

RESOLVED: that the Standing Orders and Financial Regulations as set out in ENCL: 3089 (a) and (b) be approved for 2016/17.

10. MEETINGS CALENDAR 2016/17

RESOLVED: that the calendar of meetings for 2016/17 be confirmed as previously circulated, including the dates of the standing working groups.

11. STANDING ORDER 14 (b)

There were no questions under Standing Order 14(b)

12. PUBLIC FORUM

RESOLVED: that the topic for discussion at the first Open Public Forum at the Council meeting on 21 June shall be:

"How do you increase public participation in local government?"

13. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The outgoing Town Mayor's engagements, ENCL: 3087, were noted. There were no further announcements.

The meeting closed at **7.45p.m**.

The next meeting of Bridport Town Council will be held on 21 June 2016

Committees

Finance and General Purposes (9)		Planning (9)		Environme	Environment & Social Wellbeing (9)	
Geoffrey	Ackerman	Geoffrey	Ackerman	Jeremy	Brodie	
Sandra.	Brown	Jeremy	Brodie	Kelvin	Clayton	
Kelvin	Clayton	Eddie	Colfox	Eddie	Colfox	
Keith.	Day	Teresa	Harrison	Sarah	Horniman	
Gillian	Massey	Sarah	Horniman	Barry	Irvine	
Maggie	Ray	Barry	Irvine	Julian	Jones	
Martin	Ray	Julian	Jones	Ros	Kayes	
Anne	Rickard	David	Rickard	Anne	Rickard	
Sarah	Williams	Sarah	Williams	David	Rickard	

Sub Committee

Best Value and Scrutiny (9)

Geoffrey Ackerman Sandra. Brown Kelvin Clayton Keith Day Irvine Barry Maggie Ray Martin Ray David Rickard Rickard Anne

Working Groups

Highways & Transportation (5)		Market & Business Liaison (5)		Staffing Appeals (3)	
Geoffrey	Ackerman	Geoffrey	Ackerman	Keith	Day
Sarah	Horniman	Sandra	Brown	Martin	Ray
Julian	Jones	Gillian	Massey	David	Rickard
Martin	Ray	Anne	Rickard	Alternate members	
Anne	Rickard	Sarah	Williams	To be appointed as required	

(In accordance with Standing Order 25(c), the Leader of the Council shall be an ex-officio member of every committee and sub committee)

Neighbourhood Plan Joint Committee

Sarah Williams (David Rickard reserve)