At the ANNUAL MEETING of the **BRIDPORT TOWN COUNCIL** held in the Town Hall, Bridport on Thursday 18 May 2017 at 7.00 p.m.

- PRESENT Cllr Ros Kayes (in the Chair for item 1)
 - Cllr Julian Jones Geoffrey Ackerman Jeremy Brodie Gill Massey Sandra Brown Maggie Ray Martin Ray Kelvin Clayton Eddie Colfox **Dave Rickard** Keith Day Anne Rickard Terry Harrison Barbara Vousden Barry Irvine Sarah Williams

The Town Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and gave a summary of her civic year. She also made a presentation to Linda Bullock, in recognition of all her help and support over the past year.

1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR (CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)

It was moved by Cllr Ros Kayes, seconded by Cllr Gill Massey and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Anne Rickard be elected Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2017/2018.

There was a short adjournment and on reconvening, Cllr Anne Rickard was in the Chair.

Cllr Anne Rickard read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election. She also spoke about the civic year ahead and presented Cllr Ros Kayes with a former Mayors' badge.

2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR (VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)

It was moved by Cllr Maggie Ray, seconded by Cllr Martin Ray and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Barry Irvine be elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2017/18.

Cllr Barry Irvine read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for his election.

3. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE TOWN COUNCIL

It was moved by Cllr Dave Rickard, seconded by Cllr Anne Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Sarah Williams be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2017/18.

Cllr Sarah Williams read aloud and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and returned thanks for her election. She also spoke about the year ahead for the Town Council.

4. <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Cllr Sarah Horniman.

5. <u>MINUTES</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 28 March 2017 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Town Mayor (Chairman).

6. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS</u> <u>AND DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS FOR 2017/18</u>

Consideration was given to the establishment of the committees, sub committees and working groups for the ensuing municipal year 2017/18, their terms of reference and delegations, as set out in the Town Council's constitution, ENCL: 3197.

RESOLVED: that committees, sub committees and working groups be established for 2017/18, with the terms of reference and delegations (including those to the Town Clerk) as set out in the Appendix to the report.

8. <u>MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES AND WORKING</u> <u>GROUPS FOR 2017/18</u>

The proposed memberships had been circulated to all members, prior to the meeting.

RESOLVED: that the membership of committees, sub committees and working groups for the municipal year 2017/18 be approved, as set out in the Appendix to these minutes.

9. STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

Consideration was given to the Council's Standing Orders and Financial Regulations, as set out in ENCL: 3198 and ENCL: 3199.

RESOLVED: that the Standing Orders and Financial Regulations as set out in ENCL: 3198 and ENCL: 3199 be approved for 2017/18.

10. MEETINGS CALENDAR 2017/18

RESOLVED: that the calendar of meetings for 2017/18 be confirmed as previously circulated, including the dates of the standing working groups.

11. STANDING ORDER 14 (b)

There were no questions under Standing Order 14(b)

12. PUBLIC FORUM

RESOLVED: that the topic for discussion at the Open Public Forum at the Council meeting on 20 June 2017 shall be: Rights Respecting.

13. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The outgoing Town Mayor's engagements, ENCL: 3195, were noted. The Town Mayor and the outgoing Town Mayor were joined by all members in paying tribute to the Rev Andrew Evans for his work and contribution to the community. The Rev Andrew Evans was taking up a new position away from Bridport and Members wished him well for the future.

The Leader of the Council reminded members of the forthcoming opening of the Museum.

The meeting closed at **7.46p.m**.

The next meeting of Bridport Town Council will be held on 20 June 2017

Bridport Town Council Memberships 2017/18

Environment & Social Wellbeing (9)

Clayton

Colfox Horniman

Irvine

Jones

Kayes

Rickard

Rickard

Vousden

Kelvin

Eddie

Sarah

Barry Julian

Ros

Anne

David

Barbara

Committees

Finance a	and General Purposes (9)	Planning (9)	
Geoffrey	Ackerman	Geoffrey	Ackerman
Sandra	Brown	Jeremy	Brodie
Kelvin	Clayton	Eddie	Colfox
Keith	Day	Teresa	Harrison
Gillian	Massey	Sarah	Horniman
Maggie	Ray	Barry	Irvine
Martin	Ray	Julian	Jones
Anne	Rickard	David	Rickard
Sarah	Williams	Sarah	Williams

Sub Committee

Best Value and Scrutiny (9)

Geoffrey Ackerman Sandra Brown Kelvin Clayton Keith Day Barry Irvine Maggie Ray Martin Ray David Rickard Rickard Anne

Working Groups

Highways	& Transportation (5)	Market & Business Liaison (5)		Staffing Appeals (3)	
Geoffrey	Ackerman	Geoffrey	Ackerman	Keith	Day
Sarah	Horniman	Sandra	Brown	Martin	Ray
Julian	Jones	Gillian	Massey	David	Rickard
Martin	Ray	Anne	Rickard	Alternate members	
Anne	Rickard	Sarah	Williams	To be ap	pointed as required

(In accordance with Standing Order 25(c), the Leader of the Council shall be an ex-officio member of every committee and sub committee)

Neighbourhood Plan Joint Committee

Sarah Williams (David Rickard reserve)