Minutes of the ANNUAL MEETING of the **BRIDPORT TOWN COUNCIL** held in the Town Hall, Bridport on Wednesday 10 May 2023 at 7.00pm.

PRESENT Cllr Ian Bark (in the Chair for item 1)

Cllrs Geoffrey Ackerman Gill Massey

Dave Bolwell
Sandra Brown
Kelvin Clayton
Julian Jones

Anne Rickard
Dave Rickard
Sarah Williams
Steve Williams

ALSO PRESENT Will Austin (Town Clerk), Daryl Chambers (Town Surveyor),

Paul Fuszard (Finance & Office Manager), Terri Foxwell (TIC Manager), Rebecca Jones (Deputy TIC Manager), Jill Beed (Mayor's Secretary), Claire Peters-Way (Clerical Officer), Georgia Chesterman (TIC Assistant), Billy Shearer (TIC Assistant) Paul Violet (Cemetery Superintendent), Tim Smith (Groundsman), George Foster-Grellis (Groundsman), Lisa

Craig (Cleaner), and 41 members of the public.

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, Cllr Ian Bark, the outgoing Mayor, reflected on his Mayoral year. He offered his thanks to the Mayoress, Town Clerk and Mayor's Secretary for their support.

1. <u>ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR (CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

It was moved by Cllr Sarah Williams, seconded by Cllr Anne Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Dave Bolwell be elected Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2023/2024.

Cllr Dave Bolwell signed the declaration of acceptance of office, received the chain of office, offered thanks for his election, and assumed the chair.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Rose Allwork, Sarah Carney, Karen Hunt, Barry Irvine, Maggie Ray and Martin Ray.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR (VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL)</u>

It was moved by Cllr Gill Massey, seconded by Cllr Dave Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Ian Bark be elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2023/2024.

Cllr lan Bark signed the declaration of acceptance of office, received the chain of office and offered thanks for his election.

5. <u>ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE TOWN COUNCIL</u>

It was moved by Cllr Dave Bolwell, seconded by Cllr Anne Rickard and, on being put to the vote:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Dave Rickard be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2023/2024.

Cllr Dave Rickard signed the declaration of acceptance of office and offered thanks for his election.

6. MINUTES

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting held on 28 March 2023 be confirmed as a correct record, and be signed by the Town Mayor.

7. COMMITTEES

(a) PLANNING COMMITTEE

The minutes of the meeting of the Planning Committee held on 24 April 2023 were presented by the Committee Vice Chairman, Ian Bark.

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting of the Planning Committee on 24 April 2023 be received and adopted.

8. STANDING ORDER 14(b)

No questions were submitted under Standing Order 14(b).

9. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS AND DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS FOR 2023/24</u>

Consideration was given to the establishment of the committees, sub committees and working groups for the ensuing municipal year 2023/24, their terms of reference and delegations as set out in the Town Council's constitution, ENCL: 3803.

RESOLVED: that the committees, sub committees and working groups be established for 2023/24, with the terms of reference and delegations, including the delegations to the Town Clerk, as set out in the Appendix to the report.

10. <u>MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS FOR 2023/24</u>

The proposed memberships had been circulated to all members, prior to the meeting, ENCL: 3804.

RESOLVED:

(i) that the membership of committees, sub committees and working groups for the municipal year 2023/24 be approved as set out at Appendix 1 to these minutes.

11. STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

The Town Clerk reported that these documents were circulated with councillors' induction packs. A full review of both would be needed during the year, but pending that, he sought approval to continue using the current versions. There was no suggestion from the auditors that they were not fit for purpose, but both needed to be updated, to accord with the model versions published by NALC. The Clerk recommended that members confirm as per the agenda.

RESOLVED: that the Council's existing Standing Orders and Financial Regulations shall apply for 2023/2024, as previously adopted, until the new models are considered at the Finance & General Purposes Committee on 12 June 2023.

12. COUNCIL MEETINGS CALENDAR

Consideration was given to ENCL: 3805.

RESOLVED: that the calendar of meetings for 2023/24 be confirmed as circulated with the agenda.

13. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor reported his list of engagements, ENCL: 3806.

The meeting closed at **7.43pm**

The next meeting of Bridport Town Council will be held on 27 June 2023

Bridport Town Council Memberships 2023-24

	Geoff Ackerman	lan Bark	Dave Bolwell	Barry Irvine	Gill Massey	Martin Ray	Maggie Ray	Anne Rickard	Dave Rickard	Sarah Williams	Steve Williams	Lib Dem Total	Kelvin Clayton	Julian Jones	Ros Kayes	Karen Hunt	Green Total	Rose Allwork	Sarah Carney	lnd Total	Sandra Brown	Con Total	<u>Total</u>
MAIN COMMITTEES																							
F&GP (9)	•				•	•	•	•		•		6		•		•	2	•		1		0	9
Plans (9)	•	•	•					•	•			5	•	•			2		•	1		0	8*
Environment (9)		•						•	•		•	4	•		•	•	3		•	1		0	8*
Communities Trust Mgmt (3)		•								•		2					0			0	•	1	3
JOINT COMMITTEE																							
NPJCC (1 + 1 reserve)		•										1					0			0		0	1+R
SUB COMMITTEES																							
Staffing Appeals (3)												0					0			0		0	0**
Best Value (9)	•					•	•	•			•	5			•		1		•	1	•	1	8*
Climate Action (5)		•							•			2	•			•	2	•		1		0	5
WORKING GROUPS																							
Market & Business (5)	•	•								•		3					0	•		1	•	1	5
Total	4	6	1	0	1	2	2	4	3	3 + R	2	28 + R	3	2	2	3	10	3	3	6	3	3	47 + R

^{*} Vacancy
** Sub-Committee membership to be agreed if convened