Minutes of the ANNUAL MEETING of the **BRIDPORT TOWN COUNCIL** held in the Town Hall, Bridport on Thursday 8 May 2025 at 7.00pm.

PRESENT	Cllr	Anne Rickard	(Chair and Town Mayor)
	Cllrs	Nigel Amor Ian Bark Bridget Bolwell Dave Bolwell Jonathan Bourbon Robert Casey Kelvin Clayton Andrew Holdridge	Anna Killick Ann Langridge Patrick Mooney Nigel Rawlings Dave Rickard Bev Thornton Sarah Williams Steve Williams

ALSO PRESENT Daryl Chambers (Town Surveyor), Will Austin (Town Clerk), nine further council officers, and 31 members of the public.

# 1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR (CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL)

Cllr Anne Rickard addressed the meeting as outgoing Mayor and Chair, reflecting on her year in office. She then called for nominations for the election of Town Mayor and Chair of the Council for the municipal year 2025/2026.

It was moved by Cllr Paddy Mooney, seconded by Cllr Nigel Rawlings and,:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Anne Rickard be elected Town Mayor and Chair of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2025/2026.

There followed a short adjournment (7.10pm to 7.13pm) during which time the Mayor retired to receive the chain of office and Mayoral robes before returning to the Council Chamber.

Cllr Anne Rickard read out and signed the declaration of acceptance of office, offered thanks for her election, and assumed the chair.

#### 2. <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Sarah Carney and David Worthington.

The Mayor also noted apologies received from Sandra Brown MBE.

#### 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

# 4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR (VICE-CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL)

It was moved by Cllr Nigel Rawlings, seconded by Cllr Ann Langridge and:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Jonathan Bourbon be elected Deputy Town Mayor and Vice-Chair of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2025/2026.

Cllr Jonathan Bourbon read out and signed the declaration of acceptance of office, received the insignia of office, and offered thanks for his election.

# 5. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE TOWN COUNCIL

It was moved by Cllr Andrew Holdridge, seconded by Cllr Paddy Mooney and:

RESOLVED: that Cllr Ian Bark be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing municipal year 2025/2026.

Cllr Ian Bark read out and signed the declaration of acceptance of office, and offered thanks for his election.

# 6. <u>MINUTES</u>

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting held on 25 March 2025 be confirmed as a correct record, and be signed by the Town Mayor.

# 7. <u>COMMITTEES</u>

#### (a) PLANNING COMMITTEE

The minutes of the meeting of the Planning Committee held on 28 April 2025 were presented by the Committee Chairman, Cllr Ian Bark.

RESOLVED: that the minutes of the meeting of the Planning Committee on 28 April 2025 be received and adopted.

#### 8. STANDING ORDER 4(k)(vi)

No questions were received pursuant to Standing Order 4(k)(vi).

# 9. <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, SUB COMMITTEES, WORKING GROUPS AND</u> <u>DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS FOR 2025/26</u>

Consideration was given to the establishment of the committees, sub committees and working groups for the ensuing municipal year 2025/2026, their terms of reference and delegations as set out in the Town Council's constitution, ENCL: 4002.

RESOLVED: that the committees, sub committees and working groups be established for 2025/2026, with the terms of reference and delegations, including the delegations to the Town Clerk, as set out in the Appendix to the report.

# 10. <u>ELECTION OF COMMITTEE, SUB COMMITTEE, AND STANDING WORKING</u> <u>GROUP MEMBERS 2025/26</u>

The proposed memberships had been circulated to all members, prior to the meeting, ENCL: 4003. This replicated the memberships approved at the previous Annual Town Council Meeting in May 2024.

The Town Clerk reported that, subsequent to publication of the agenda and report, he had been advised of the following proposed changes:

- Finance & General Purposes Committee Cllr Dave Rickard to replace Cllr Anne Rickard.
- Neighbourhood Plan Joint Councils Committee Cllr Bridget Bolwell to replace Cllr Andrew Holdridge.
- Best Value & Scrutiny Sub-Committee Cllr Nigel Rawlings to replace Cllr Andrew Holdridge
- Market & Business Liaison Working Group Cllr Dave Rickard to replace Cllr Ian Bark.

Following discussion it was

RESOLVED: that the membership of committees, sub committees and working groups for the municipal year 2025/26 be approved as set out at Appendix 1 to these minutes.

# 11. STANDING ORDERS AND FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

RESOLVED: that the Council's existing Standing Orders and Financial Regulations shall apply for the municipal year 2025/2026 unless otherwise reviewed by the council.

#### 12. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Town Mayor reported her list of engagements, ENCL: 4004.

The Town Clerk thanked all council officers for their outstanding work during the preceding municipal year, noting that this period had included a major expansion of the council's boundary and responsibilities, and a Town Council election that had resulted in eleven new councillors from the total of twenty elected.

The meeting closed at **7.38pm.** 

#### The next meeting of Bridport Town Council will be held on 24 June 2025.

	Nigel Amor	lan Bark	Bridget Bolwell	Dave Bolwell	Jonathan Bourbon	Andrew Holdridge	Ann Langridge	Paddy Mooney	Nigel Rawlings	Anne Rickard	Dave Rickard	Bev Thornton	Sarah Williams	Steve Williams	David Worthingt on	<u>Lib Dem</u> <u>Total</u>	Rob Casey	Kelvin Clayton	Julian Jones	<u>Green</u> <u>Total</u>	Anna Killick	<u>Lab</u> Total	Sarah Carney	<u>Ind</u> <u>Total</u>	Total
MAIN COMMITTEES																									
F&GP (9)	✓	L				✓	✓	✓	✓		✓		~			7	~			1	~	1		0	9
Plans (9)	✓	✓			✓			~		✓					✓	6		√		1	✓	1	✓	1	9
Environment (9)		L	✓		~					~	✓	~		1	1	7		~	~	2		0		0	9
Communities Trust Mgmt (3)		L			~								✓			2				0		0	~	1	3
JOINT COMMITTEE																									
NPJCC (5)		L	✓	~	~			√								4		✓		1		1		0	5
SUB COMMITTEES																									
Staffing Appeals (3)		L		~						~			~			3				0		0		0	3
Best Value (9)		L			~		*	✓	~	~	4			1		7				0	~	0	*	1	9
WORKING GROUPS																									
Market & Business (5)							~		✓		✓		✓			4				0		0	~	1	5
Housing (6)								✓				1			~	3		1		1	1	1	1	1	6
Total	2	1 (+L)	2	2	5	1	3	5	3	4	4	2	4	2	3	43	1	4	1	6	4	4	5	5	58

L = Leader is a member ex officio (i.e. arising from the holding of that office)